Baggy Green Cap

Origin and Significance.

The Baggy Green is the cap worn by Australian Test cricketers. It's a dark green cap with the Australian coat of arms on the front. The cap has become an emblem of national pride and a symbol of the dedication, hard work, and honor associated with representing Australia in Test cricket. 


When a player makes their debut for the Australian Test team, they are presented with a Baggy Green. This presentation is a significant moment in a cricketer's career, marking their entry into an elite group of players who have represented their country at the highest level.

Notable Moments.

Some players, like Steve Waugh, have worn the same Baggy Green throughout their entire Test career, despite it showing signs of wear and tear. This is a testament to the sentimental value and pride associated with the cap.

What are the ashes?


The Ashes is a series of Test cricket matches played between England and Australia. The term "Ashes" was first used after England lost to Australia on their own soil at The Oval in 1882, an event which led the British sporting press to mockingly declare that English cricket had died, and "the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia." The English media then dubbed the next English tour to Australia (1882-83) as the quest to regain The Ashes.

The Urn.

The symbolic trophy is a small urn, which, according to legend, contains the ashes of a burnt cricket bail. This urn is one of the smallest trophies in international sports, but it carries immense significance and pride for the two nations.


The Ashes series is one of the oldest and most celebrated rivalries in international cricket. Matches between the two teams are highly anticipated and watched by millions of fans worldwide. The series has seen many memorable moments, legendary performances, and dramatic finishes.


The team holding the Ashes retains the trophy, irrespective of the series result, until the other team wins the series. So, if the series is drawn, the country already holding the Ashes retains them.


The Ashes series is traditionally of five Tests, hosted in turn by England and Australia at least once every two years. There have been more than 70 Ashes series as of my last update in 2021.

All Football Codes

Association Football (Soccer)

Origin, England.

Players: 11 players per team

Objective: Score goals by getting the ball into the opposing team's net.

Tackling: Slide tackles are allowed, but tackles that are deemed dangerous or from behind can result in fouls.

Duration: Two halves, each 45 minutes long, with added injury time.

American Football (Gridiron)

Origin, United States

Players: 11 players per team on the field at any given time.

Objective: Score points by carrying the ball to the opponent's end zone or by passing it to another player who is in the end zone.

Tackling: Full-contact sport with heavy tackling. Players wear protective gear.

Duration: Four quarters, each 15 minutes long.

Australian Rules Football (AFL)

Origin, Australia.

Players: 18 players per team on the field.

Objective: Score points by kicking the ball between goalposts.

Tackling: Players can tackle between the shoulders and knees.

Duration: Four quarters, each 20 minutes long, but with added time-on for stoppages.

Rugby Union

Origin, England.

Players: 15 players per team.

Objective: Score tries by placing the ball in the opponent's try-zone or by kicking it between goalposts.

Tackling: Full-contact sport, but high tackles (above the shoulders) are penalized.

Duration: Two halves, each 40 minutes long.

Rugby League

Origin, England (as a split from Rugby Union).

Players: 13 players per team.

Objective: Similar to Rugby Union, but with some different rules around tackling and play restarts.

Tackling: Full-contact sport with a set of six tackles allowed before handing over possession.

Duration: Two halves, each 40 minutes long.

Gaelic Football

Origin, Ireland.

Players: 15 players per team.

Objective: Score points by kicking or punching the ball into the opponent's goal or over the crossbar.

Tackling: Shoulder charging is allowed, but slapping or pulling an opponent is not.

Duration: Two halves, each 30-35 minutes long.

Canadian Football (CFL)

Origin, Canada.

Players: 12 players per team on the field at any given time.

Objective: Similar to American Football, but with some rule variations.

Tackling: Similar to American Football.

Duration: Four quarters, each 15 minutes long.

Cricket Code and History

The International Cricket Council (ICC) oversees matches that adhere to its approved rules and regulations. They also supply the officials for these games. (www.icc-cricket.com)

Internationally, cricket is played in three main formats.

Test matches, One Day Internationals (ODIs), and Twenty20 Internationals.

Test cricket, a classic version of the sport, has been around since 1877. It's typically played over five days, with each team having two innings.

ODIs, or One Day Internationals, offer a faster pace. Introduced in 1971, they became widely popular in the 1980s. In this format, each team plays a single inning of 50 overs.

Twenty20 Internationals are even quicker, usually wrapping up in about three hours. With its dynamic batting, strategic bowling, and exceptional fielding, it's a hit with fans globally.